The Story Behind Stress-free Homeschooling

There was a time with three young children to homeschool that I was feeling overwhelmed and depressed. Some days were better than others, but I just found myself under this dark cloud that I couldn’t seem to escape from. I decided to speak to my doctor about it, and he suggested anti-depressants. He sent me home with a video about anti-depressants to watch, and told me that if I wanted to go on them, he would prescribe them for me. I’m very reluctant to take any kind of medication, but I was desperate enough to consider them.

That day I was at the pharmacy and the Lord directed my attention to a rack of books. There was a secular self-help book written by a psychologist. I began to leaf through it, and as I did, the Lord spoke to my heart that he was going to use that book to bring me healing. I bought it, and as I read through it, the Lord started bringing to mind many verses that correlated with the principles in the book. I felt a surge of hope, and the Lord directed me to adapt a form of journaling mentioned in this book.

He showed me that the negative emotions I was experiencing were the result of believing the enemy’s lies. I learned to identify the specific untruth that was associated with a negative emotion at any one time, then counter it with the specific truth from the Bible that would defeat that negative thought. I began to journal the negative emotions I was experiencing, the specific lie that was at the source of that emotion, and the countering truth from God’s Word. I did this for several months. Each day I would review what I had written, focussing on the truths of God’s Word. I began to feel much better and never went on the anti-depressants.

Over the years, as I meditated on those truths and they began to take root in my soul, they gave me a peace and stability in my walk with the Lord. The following verse became my regular practice:

2 Corinthians 10:5 “We demolish arguments and every pretension that sets itself up against the knowledge of God, and we take captive every thought to make it obedient to Christ.”

The Lord then prompted me to write this devotional book, which was the fruit of learning and meditating on the truths that were so key to my healing. My prayer is that others who struggle with depression/negative thinking will be helped as well!

Psalm 107:20 “He sent His word and healed them, and delivered them from their destructions.”

Leave a Reply

